top of page

NCIRE Board of Directors

Neal H. Cohen, MD, MPH, MS

Vice Dean, Affiliations and Compliance, School of Medicine, UCSF
Professor Emeritus, Anesthesia and Perioperative Care and Medicine, UCSF

Karunesh Ganguly, MD, PhD

Chief of Neurology, Neurology and Rehabilitation Service, SFVAHCS

Professor, Department of Neurology, UCSF


Health Care System Director, SFVAHCS

David O. Morgan, PhD

Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine, UCSF  

Professor, Department of Physiology, UCSF

Bruce Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, MLS 

Chief of Staff, SFVAHCS 

Professor of Neurology and Associate Dean, UCSF

Jules Walker, MBA

Senior Director, KPMG Private Enterprise

Kristine Yaffe, MD

Director of NeuroPsychiatry, SFVAHCS
Director of the Memory Evaluation Clinic, SFVAHCS
Scola Endowed Chair and Vice Chair, Department of Psychiatry, UCSF
Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Epidemiology, UCSF         Director of the Center for Population Brain Health, UCSF

Hubert T. Kim, MD, PhD, Vice Chair

Chief of Surgical Service, SFVAHCS
Chief, Orthopaedic Surgery, SFVAHCS
Professor and Vice Chair, Orthopaedic Surgery, UCSF

Steve Countouriotis, Lieutenant Colonel, US Army (Ret.)

Chief, Emergency Services Division                                                 USCG Training Center Petaluma

Warren J. Gasper, MD

Chief, Vascular Surgery Section, SFVAHCS

Director, Vascular Integrated Physiology and Experimental Therapeutics (ViperX), SFVAHCS
Associate Professor of Surgery, Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, UCSF

Theodora Mauro, MD

Deputy Chief of Staff, SFVAHCS

Clinical Director of Planning and Development, SFVAHCS

Staff Physician and Chief of Dermatology Service, SFVAHCS
Professor in Residence and Vice-Chair of Dermatology, UCSF

Thomas C. Neylan, MD

Deputy, Associate Chief of Staff for Clinical Research, SFVAHCS

Section Chief, PTSD Clinical Team, SFVAHCS

Director, Stress and Health Research Program, SFVAHCS                        Professor in Residence, Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology, UCSF

Stephen Peary, JD, LLM

Chief Financial Officer of Phizzle, Inc

Louise C. Walter, MD

Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Geriatrics, SFVAHCS and UCSF

Director, Geriatrics HSR&D Program, SFVAHCS

Geriatrician, SFVAHCS

VA Advisory Representatives

Carl Grunfeld, MD, PhD

Special Advisor for Field Operations, Office of Research and Development, VHA

Professor of Medicine, Emeritus, UCSF

Shirley Jih

Director of Public Affairs, SFVAHCS

Advisor to the Audit Committee

Diana Truran

Manager of Operations, Administration & Imaging
Executive Director, Brain Health Registry
Center for Imaging of Neurodegenerative Diseases (CIND)

bottom of page