NCIRE - The Veterans Health Research Institute Home  |  Sitemap  |  Intranet  |  UltiPro   Visit our Facebook page  Visit our Twitter page  Visit our LinkedIn page

Give Now
About NCIRE Participate in Research Support Our Mission Careers at NCIRE Contact Us

NCIRE Board of Directors

Raymond A. Swanson, MD, Chair
Chief of Neurology Service, SFVAHCS
Professor and Vice Chair of Neurology, UCSF
Hubert Kim, MD, PhD, Vice Chair
Chief of Surgical Service, SFVAHCS
Chief, Orthopaedic Surgery, SFVAHCS
Professor and Vice Chair, Orthopaedic Surgery, UCSF
Neal H. Cohen, MD, MPH, MS
Vice Dean, School of Medicine, UCSF
Professor of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care and Medicine, UCSF
Director, International Medical Services, UCSF
Shira Maguen, PhD
Mental Health Director OEF/OIF Integrated Care Clinic, SFVAHSC
Staff Psychologist, SFVAHCS PTSD Program
Associate Professor, School of Medicine, UCSF 
Steve Countouriotis
Lieutenant Colonel, US Army (Ret.) 
Chief, Emergency Services Branch/Command Security Officer
US Department of Homeland Security
USCG Training Center Petaluma 
Kenneth R. McQuaid, MD
Chief of Medical Service and Gastroenterology, SFVAHCS
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Marvin H. Sleisenger Endowed Chair
Vice Chair, Department of Medicine, UCSF 
Jennifer Grandis, MD 
American Cancer Society Professor
Associate Vice Chancellor, Clinical and Translational Research, UCSF
Director, Clinical and Translational 
Science Institute, UCSF
Professor, Otolaryngology – Head 
and Neck Surgery, UCSF 
Stephen Peary, JD, LLM 
Chief Financial Officer
Phizzle, Inc.
Bonnie S. Graham, MBA
Director, SFVAHCS

Carmen Peralta, MD, MAS
Staff Physician, SFVAHCS
Nephrologist at the UCSF Nephrology and Hypertension Faculty Practice and Associate Professor of Medicine, UCSF 

Carl Grunfeld, MD, PhD
Associate Chief of Staff for Research and Development, SFVAHCS   
Chief of Metabolism and Endocrine Systems, Staff Physician, SFVAHCS
Professor of Medicine, UCSF  
Rina Shah, MD, FACP
Interim Chief of Staff, SFVAHCS 

Theodora Mauro, MD
Interim Deputy Chief of Staff, SFVAHCS
Staff Physician and Chief of Dermatology Service, SFVAHCS
Professor in Residence and Vice-Chair of Dermatology, UCSF

Michael Shlipak, MD, MPH
Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine, SFVAHCS
Co-Founder and Scientific Director, Kidney Health Research Collaborative
Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, UCSF
John R. McQuaid, PhD
Associate Chief of Staff, Mental Health, SFVAHCS
Vice Chair for Adult Psychology, Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute
Weill Institute of Neuroscience, Department of Psychiatry, UCSF
Louise C. Walter, MD
Chief, Division of Geriatrics, SFVAHCS
Professor of Medicine, UCSF

Keith R. Yamamoto, PhD
Vice Chancellor, Research, UCSF
Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Strategy, UCSF
Executive Vice Dean, School of Medicine, UCSF
Professor of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology, UCSF 


VA Advisory Representatives
Judi Cheary 
Executive Assistant to the Director, SFVAHCS
Director, Public Affairs, SFVAHCS
Nisha Hall, JD
Health Law Group and Specialty Team Advising Research (STAR)Office of the General Counsel
Advisors to the Audit Committee  

Jules Walker, MBA
Director, Ventura Capital Practices, KPMG, LLP 

Josue Zapata, MD, MBA 
Attending Physician, SFVAHCS
Assistant Professor, UCSF School of Medicine
NCIRE Officers 

Rebecca A. Rosales, MBA, CRA
Chief Executive Officer

Featured Story
July 25, 2018